Collier County Property Tax Rates
The median property tax in Collier County, Florida is $2,399 per year for a home worth the median value of $357,400. Collier County collects, on average, 0.67% of a property’s assessed fair market value as property tax.
Collier County has one of the highest median property taxes in the United States, and is ranked 301st of the 3143 counties in order of median property taxes. The average yearly property tax paid by Collier County residents amounts to about 3.6% of their yearly income. Collier County is ranked 345th of the 3143 counties for property taxes as a percentage of median income.(www.tax-rates.org)
Lee County Property Tax Rates
The median property tax in Lee County, Florida is $2,197 per year for a home worth the median value of $210,600. Lee County collects, on average, 1.04% of a property’s assessed fair market value as property tax.
Lee County has one of the highest median property taxes in the United States, and is ranked 364th of the 3143 counties in order of median property taxes. The average yearly property tax paid by Lee County residents amounts to about 3.87% of their yearly income. Lee County is ranked 264th of the 3143 counties for property taxes as a percentage of median income. (www.tax-rates.org)
Important Dates To Remember
- January 1
- Date of assessment for all properties.
- January and February
- Filing of applications for all exemptions for the current year. Applications filed after March 1 may be granted for the following year.
- January to April 1
- Filing of Tangible Personal Property tax returns.
- March 1
- Filing deadline for all exemptions and agricultural classification.
- April 1
- Filing deadline for Tangible Personal Property tax returns.
- July 1
- The Property Appraiser’s office submits the assessment rolls to the Florida Department of Revenue for review and approval.
- TRIM Notices are mailed to all Lee County property owners. Property owners have 25 days from the mailing date of TRIM notices in which to file a petition with the Value Adjustment Board ( VAB ) contesting the property’s value. Owners can request an informal conference with the Property Appraiser at any time during the year.
- Assessment rolls are certified for collection.
- Tax bills are mailed by Lee County Tax Collector. (4% discount if paid in November, 3% in December, 2% in January, and 1% in February)
Florida Homestead Exemption
“A person who, on January 1, has the legal title or beneficial title in equity to real property in this state and who in good faith makes the property his or her permanent residence or the permanent residence of another or others legally or naturally dependent upon him or her, is entitled to an exemption. Once granted, you are entitled to a reduction of up to $50,000 from the assessed value of your dwelling.
To qualify you must be a permanent resident of Florida as of January 1st of the year in which you apply for the exemption. Florida law does allow new homestead applications to be filed prior to January 1st of the year the exemption is to be effective. However, pre-filed applications will only be accepted after March 1st of each year for the succeeding year.
Click Collier County Homestead for more details.